Sing.

I have now made it over halfway to delivery. 25 weeks in fact. Words like viable and soon are starting to be thrown around and while it thrills me, it also terrifies me. I find it hard sometimes to trust that this miracle will actually come to fruition. I find myself rubbing my stomach and begging this little baby to move-let me know he’s ok. I’m learning his patterns…and he is learning mine. I’m finding we both enjoy worship. It calms my soul and he goes nuts kicking when I praise the High King. I don’t think it’s a coincidence that he is so active when the Spirit is moving.

The other night I had the pleasure of attending a wonderful concert featuring two of my favorite Christian bands-Tenth Avenue North and MercyMe. Listening to their songs took me back to some times that seemed insurmountable and some that my faith was trying to peek out to save me. Hearing the lyrics to Worn immediately brought me back to the moments crying in the shower begging God to make the pain stop. Pleading and explaining that I was tired. Worn. And that my heart couldn’t bear it anymore. Hearing the words to Even If reminded me of those nights crying my eyes out at church as I accepted the fact that Even if my time didn’t come, it would somehow, be well with my soul.

Music has always had a way of speaking to me. Sometimes making me feel things I don’t necessarily want to feel. I think I needed the reminder though. I needed to remember how hard this road has been and who my Redeemer is. Who held me through it all.

So I sang. With tears in my eyes, cradling my ever growing belly, I sang. I sang until my voice hurt. And it was a wonderful release. There’s nothing like singing to the Master. I’ve sang to Him in the lowest of valleys and now the highest of mountains.

Leave a comment